Home NEW CDs The Residents – Commercial Album

The Residents – Commercial Album


Written & produced by: The Residents
Cover Design & Art Direction: Pore Know Graphics
Reissue release date: 25 January 2019
Original release: October 1980
Recording date: September 1979 – October 1980
Packaging: 2-CD digipak w/booklet
Label: Cryptic Corp (originally released on Ralph Records)
Catalog#: NRT009



SKU: 000-45 Category: Tags: , , ,


If you don’t already know who The Residents are, you probably won’t dig this pREServed Edition. Produced with The Cryptic Corporation using archival tapes supplied by The Residents themselves, this package explores and expands the classic 1980 album – the record which cemented The Residents’ reputation as avant-garde conceptual cultural observers. Including unheard outtakes, live rehearsals, re-workings and live interpretations, this is The Residents as we’ve always wanted to hear them. Bonus material includes unused period recordings (including several one-minute pieces), live-in-the-studio material and concert recordings.

The album pares down the concept and structure of the average commercial pop song and reduces it to a one-minute redux. It contains a compilation of 40 such sixty-second vignettes. The recording session featured Chris Cutler, Snakefinger (who sings lead on many tracks) and Fred Frith as well as two previously-uncredited guest vocalists, Lene Lovich (“Picnic Boy”) and Andy Partridge (“Margaret Freeman”). The extensive liner notes to this pREServed Edition confirm the long-held assertion that Brian Eno played synthesizer on “The Coming Of The Crow” and that David Byrne sang harmony vocals on “Suburban Bathers.”

Fun Facts:

The liner notes state that songs should be repeated three times in a row to form a pop song.

The Residents purchased 40 one-minute advertising slots on San Francisco’s most popular Top-40 radio station at the time, KFRC. The station played each track of the album over three days.

The faces on the album cover are John Travolta and Barbra Streisand.

Track Listing

Disc 1:

    • Easter Woman
    • Perfect Love
    • Picnic Boy
    • End of Home
    • Amber
    • Japanese Watercolor
    • Secrets
    • Die In Terror
    • Red Rider
    • My Second Wife
    • Floyd
    • Suburban Bathers
    • Dimples and Toes
    • The Nameless Souls
    • Love Leaks Out
    • Act of Being Polite
    • Medicine Man
    • Tragic Bells
    • Loss of Innocence
    • The Simple Song
    • Ups and Down
    • Possessions
    • Give It To Someone Else
    • Phantom
    • Less Not More
    • My Work Is So Behind
    • Birds in the Trees
    • Handful of Desire
    • Moisture
    • Love Is…
    • Troubled Man
    • La La
    • Loneliness
    • Nice Old Man
    • The Talk of Creatures
    • Fingertips
    • In Between Dreams
    • Margaret Freeman
    • The Coming of the Crow
    • When We Were Young
    • Shut Up, Shut Up
    • And I Was Alone
    • Electronic Elaborate Waste
    • Kraftwerk
    • Cosmetics For Reality
    • Rosco’s Righteous Rodent
    • Pretty Baby
    • Tuxedos
    • No Longer Unused
    • Instant Hostility
    • Elevator Lady
    • We’re A Happy Family

Disc 2:

    • Shut Shut (Residue Version)
    • And I Was Alone (Alternate)
    • Ups and Downs (Residue Version)
    • Boy In Love
    • Die In Terror (1982 Rehearsal)
    • Give It To Someone Else (1982 Rehearsal)
    • Love Leaks Out (1982 Rehearsal)
    • The Talk of Creatures (1982 Rehearsal)
    • Easter Woman (Live 1986)
    • Amber (Live 1986)
    • Red Rider (Live 1986)
    • Die In Terror (Live 1986)
    • The Coming of Crow (Live 1986)
    • Moisture (Icky Flix Version)
    • Act of Being Polite (Icky Flix Version)
    • Perfect Love (Icky Flix Version)
    • Simple Song (Icky Flix Version)
    • Red Rider (Commercial DVD Version)
    • Moisture (Commercial DVD Version)
    • Commercial Album Suite (Live 2005)
    • Give It To Someone Else (Live 2013)
    • Easter Woman (Live 2015)
    • My Second Wife (Live 2015)
    • Loss of Innocence (Live 2015)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Residents – Commercial Album”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Hi! Welcome to our virtual record shop.

Our blog’s been around for a while, but we’re now finally realizing our dream of helping people find and enjoy great-sounding music. We’ve been involved with digital technology for playback gear since the late ’80s, representing specialty-audio divisions of Philips Electronics.

While we dig technology, our hearts have always been with the music. We appreciate well-recorded, well-mixed & mastered music in all formats, but we have a special affinity for the CD (compact disc). That’s what you’ll find here in our shop – CDs.

About The Shop

Although the once-preeminent CD has fallen out of favor in recent years, it persists. It’s a great-sounding format that has been diligently refined over the years and continues to deliver reference-quality sound. Just as audiophiles never abandoned vinyl, they have not abandoned CD. In fact, as CD enters its specialty niche phase, the quality of discs and playback gear continues to improve. We encourage you to reconsider CD – it’s a great addition to any serious music collector’s range. And it’s great therapy for the increasingly common condition known as “vinyl fatigue.”

We offer lovingly-curated custom batches of discs. We do not intend to compete with Amazon and Walmart, or streaming services. Our desire is to offer a range of sounds that are hard to find, or not available to stream, and are worth collecting. You’ll find new titles from respected independent labels, as well as interesting previously-owned discs from our extensive archive. We rotate the batches on a regular basis, so make it a point to come up to the lab and see what’s on the slab.

Have a look to some of the great articles by our regular rotation of contributors. And please leave comments, offer your reviews, and like & follow us on the usual social-media platforms – we’re almost always @360degreesound. We look forward to getting to know each other and the kind of music you like to collect. We respectfully solicit your feedback and suggestions.

Be well. Love music. Listen critically. – Chris Bisha, proprietor

Shipping Policy

All item prices are inclusive of our free standard US Postal Service shipping: media mail for discs, 1st class mail for apparel. If you desire priority shipping service, please contact us via email.

Terms and Conditions

All apparel and book sales are final.

We will allow you to return any disc purchased, new or used. A restocking fee will be charged and the balance refunded in the form of shop credit. Shop credit can be used toward future purchases of any item in the shop. You must have a 360 Shop account to receive credit.