Home Used CDs Dolly Parton – The RCA Years 1967-1986

Dolly Parton – The RCA Years 1967-1986


Producer: various
Mastering: Cedar, JVC
Compiled recording dates: 1967-1986
Release d
ate: 27 April 1993
Packaging: special edition long box w/ 2 discs in standard jewel cases
Label: RCA (manufactured & distributed by BMG Music)
Catalog#: 2 discs, 66127-2 (RCA07863)

Condition: disc = Near Mint; box & jewel cases = NM (very light shelf wear)


SKU: 000-62 Category: Tags: , , ,


The Skinny:  If you every wondered if Dolly Parton is truly a great songwriter, grab this collection and let her work speak for itself. Brilliant! There are singles & hits and there other great deeper cuts. This is a killer 2-CD compilation to add to your collection.

Sounds like: Dolly… duh.

Deeper Thoughts: Dolly’s first album, Hello, I’m Dolly was actually released by Monument records in July 1967. But when she began her residency on The Porter Wagoner Show in September of that year, she was soon signed to RCA. Dolly and Porter’s first single, “The Last Thing on My Mind,” was released by RCA in 1967, but her first solo single for RCA, “Just Because I’m a Woman,” (which appears in this collection) wasn’t released until 1968. But, OK, she was signed in ’67. This is the glorious golden-age of Ms. Parton’s career. Although she’s still going strong in the 21st century, these are the classics.

The Sonics: This collection covers a 20-year period that saw major changes in recording technology. Therefore, mastering no doubt presented a bit of a challenge. Dolly’s voice is the main attraction and the mixes reflect that, but there is stellar musicianship throughout.

Track list

Disc 1

1 The Letter
2 Muleskinner Blues
3 Put It Off Until Tomorrow
4 My Tennessee Mountain Home
5 In the Good Old Days (When Times Were Bad)
6 Coat of Many Colors
7 My Blue Ridge Mountain Boy
8 Just Because I’m a Woman
9 Jolene
10 Down From Dover
11 The Last One to Touch Me
12 Daddy Come and Get Me
13 My Blue Tears
14 Kentucky Gambler
15 I Will Always Love You

Disc 2

1 The Seeker
2 Love Is Like a Butterfly
3 Touch Your Woman
4 The Bargain Store
5 Making Plans
6 Light of a Clear Blue Morning
7 9 to 5
8 Appalachian Memories
9 Here You Come Again
10 Single Woman
11 Hard Candy Christmas
12 Baby I’m Burnin’
13 Heartbreaker
14 Islands in the Stream
15 Tennessee Homesick Blues


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dolly Parton – The RCA Years 1967-1986”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Hi! Welcome to our virtual record shop.

Our blog’s been around for a while, but we’re now finally realizing our dream of helping people find and enjoy great-sounding music. We’ve been involved with digital technology for playback gear since the late ’80s, representing specialty-audio divisions of Philips Electronics.

While we dig technology, our hearts have always been with the music. We appreciate well-recorded, well-mixed & mastered music in all formats, but we have a special affinity for the CD (compact disc). That’s what you’ll find here in our shop – CDs.

About The Shop

Although the once-preeminent CD has fallen out of favor in recent years, it persists. It’s a great-sounding format that has been diligently refined over the years and continues to deliver reference-quality sound. Just as audiophiles never abandoned vinyl, they have not abandoned CD. In fact, as CD enters its specialty niche phase, the quality of discs and playback gear continues to improve. We encourage you to reconsider CD – it’s a great addition to any serious music collector’s range. And it’s great therapy for the increasingly common condition known as “vinyl fatigue.”

We offer lovingly-curated custom batches of discs. We do not intend to compete with Amazon and Walmart, or streaming services. Our desire is to offer a range of sounds that are hard to find, or not available to stream, and are worth collecting. You’ll find new titles from respected independent labels, as well as interesting previously-owned discs from our extensive archive. We rotate the batches on a regular basis, so make it a point to come up to the lab and see what’s on the slab.

Have a look to some of the great articles by our regular rotation of contributors. And please leave comments, offer your reviews, and like & follow us on the usual social-media platforms – we’re almost always @360degreesound. We look forward to getting to know each other and the kind of music you like to collect. We respectfully solicit your feedback and suggestions.

Be well. Love music. Listen critically. – Chris Bisha, proprietor

Shipping Policy

All item prices are inclusive of our free standard US Postal Service shipping: media mail for discs, 1st class mail for apparel. If you desire priority shipping service, please contact us via email.

Terms and Conditions

All apparel and book sales are final.

We will allow you to return any disc purchased, new or used. A restocking fee will be charged and the balance refunded in the form of shop credit. Shop credit can be used toward future purchases of any item in the shop. You must have a 360 Shop account to receive credit.